ENDE
lucullus
 
 

Seraccess® ONE - Breakthrough wearable Artificial Pancreas Device System for patients suffering from severe glycemic dysregulation

 

Fully automated, wearable closed-loop APDS for highly accurate and precise blood-glucose monitoring and control for the diabetes patients who need it most. Seraccess® ONE is semi-miniaturized wearable which operates with a commercially available standard catheter.

Brittle diabetes describes a group of diabetes patients suffering from life-changing disruptions due to severe glycemic dysregulation, indicating a condition of instability of glycemic control requiring frequent hospitalizations and causing impaired quality of life and enormous economic cost. These patients are at risk for many unfortunate consequences: poor glycemic control with its complications, more emergency room and hospital admissions, strains on relationships, and greater healthcare utilization and diabetes distress. Current standard of care cannot significantly help these patients, they spend very little time within the target blood glucose range.1 Brittle diabetes is characterized by severe instability of blood glucose levels with frequent and unpredictable episodes of hypoglycemia often requiring hospitalization. Hypoglycemia unawareness is one of the hallmarks of brittle T1D. Hypoglycemia unawareness is especially dangerous because the hypoglycemic individual will not know to take corrective action to prevent further deterioration. If left untreated, hypoglycemia may become severe, resulting in confusion, disorientation, loss of consciousness, or, in extreme cases of prolonged hypoglycemia, permanent brain damage or death.2 Equally dangerous are pronounced and prolonged hyperglycemias, which can lead to diabetic ketoacidosis (DKA) and associated frequent hospitalizations.

Secondary complications, including neuropathy, cardiovascular disease, and retinopathy can be especially common in brittle T1D and there is a significant excess mortality in these patients despite intensive insulin therapy.3 A twenty-year outcome study showed a shockingly 50% mortality rate in a group of women with a mean age of 42 years. In a normal non-brittle type 1 diabetes population, the expected death rate over such a period would be about 5%.4,5

 

Why Seraccess® ONE?

 

Seraccess® ONE is a wearable device which operates nearly in real time and in direct communication with the patient's bloodstream. The nearly delay-free, highly accurate and precise blood-glucose measurement allows to administer the exact amount of insulin needed - via a commercially available standard catheter - directly into the bloodstream to manage blood glucose within the target range. An increase in time in range translates directly into a reduction of short- as well as long-term complications. Seraccess® ONE is a fast acting closed-loop control system which can revolutionize therapy in this patient group.

 
 
 

The Seraccess® ONE Approach

 

The automated, regular, accurate and precise glucose measurement provided by Seraccess® ONE allows to deliver the necessary amount of insulin directly into the blood where it immediately unfolds its effect. Blood glucose can be controlled within the real physiological target range which can lead to significantly improved clinical outcomes.

 
Blood glucose monitoringBlood samplingPlasma extraction
 

How much blood is needed per day to measure blood glucose every 15 minutes?

The Seraccess® technology only needs 20µl to 30µl of blood to perform a measurement. At a frequency of 15 minutes, this results in 96 measurements per day which amounts to just 2ml to 3ml of blood needed per day.

blood-sampling
 
 

Opportunity

 

Brittle diabetes affects at least 3 in 1'000 insulin-dependent patients which translates to at least 26'000 patients in the US alone.6,7,8 The Brittle Diabetes Foundation uses glycemic variability (of 36% or more) to distinguish between brittle and stable type 1 diabetes and estimates 70'000 affected patients in the US alone.9 These patients suffer from recurrent DKA episodes resulting in multiple hospital admissions every year, with average costs of 30'000 USD per DKA admission.10 There were 189'000 hospital admissions for DKA in 2014, generating costs of 5.1 bn. USD6 It is estimated that hospital admissions for DKA in 2021 have grown to more than 200'000, generating costs of about 6 bn. USD. On average, brittle diabetes patients account for 8 hospital admissions for DKA per year4, generating costs of around 240'000 USD per patient, despite the use of current state-of-the-art diabetes technology. Applying an annual flat fee per patient approach, market value is estimated to be at least 2 bn. USD.

 
 

Milestones

 

The benefits of the intravenous pathway - Part I

Improving Time-in-Range not only in the STRECHTED RANGE (70-180mg/dl), but also in the HEALTHY RANGE (70-140mg/dl)?

Learn more

The benefits of the intravenous pathway - Part II

Does measurement delay have a negative impact on Time-in-Range (70-140mg/dl)?

Learn more

The benefits of the intravenous pathway - Part III

How does the Seraccess® blood glucose measurement perform in healthy subjects when compared to Cobas C111?

Learn more

The benefits of the intravenous pathway - Part IV

How does the Seraccess® blood glucose measurement compare to state-of-the-art CGM?

The benefits of the intravenous pathway - Part V

How does the Seraccess® blood glucose measurement perform in healthy subjects when compared to YSI?

Learn more

The benefits of the intravenous pathway - Part VI

How does the Seraccess® blood glucose measurement perform in subjects with type 1 diabetes when compared to Cobas C111?

Learn more
 
 
 
 

Seraccess® is a mid-stage venture project of Securecell that offers investment opportunities to private and institutional investors.

All information and opinions contained herein have been prepared by management and its advisors and represent their assessment as of January 2022. No representation or warranty, expressed or implied, is given as to the accuracy or completeness of the contents, opinions, or projections expressed herein and no responsibility or liability is accepted. All information videos and contents do not constitute an offer to purchase securities. The website content does not constitute an invitation to buy shares under US or international law.

References:

1 I.B. Hirsch, L.M. Gaudiani: A new look at brittle diabetes. Journal of Diabetes and Its Complications 35 (2021) 107646; https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jdiacomp.2020.107646
2 Cryer, P.E., S.N. Davis, and H. Shamoon, Hypoglycemia in diabetes. Diabetes Care, 2003. 26(6): p. 1902-12.
3 Lind, M., et al., Glycemic control and excess mortality in type 1 diabetes. N Engl J Med, 2014. 371(21): p. 1972-82.
4 Cartwright A. et al. The outcome of brittle type 1 diabetes - a 20 year study. Q J Med 2011; 104:575-579
5 Flanagan D. What happens to people with “brittle” diabetes? Diabetes Digest 2011 Vol 10;4:196 https://www.pcdsociety.org/download/resource/2756; accessed Dec 16, 2021
6 https://www.webmd.com/diabetes/brittle-diabetes-all-about; accessed Dec 15, 2021
7 CDC National Diabetes Statistics Report 2020; https://www.cdc.gov/diabetes/pdfs/data/statistics/national-diabetes-statistics-report.pdf; accessed Dec 15, 2021
8 https://www.americanactionforum.org/research/understanding-the-insulin-market/; accessed Dec 15, 2021
9 https://www.bdtype1.com/difference-stable-type-1-vs-brittle, accessed Dec 20, 2021
10 Lyerla et al. Recurrent DKA results in high societal costs - a retrospective study identifying social predictors of recurrence for potential future intervention. Clin Diabetes Endocrinol (2021) 7:13; https://clindiabetesendo.biomedcentral.com/track/pdf/10.1186/s40842-021-00127-6.pdf

ENDE
lucullus
 
 

Seraccess® ONE - bahnbrechendes, tragbares künstliches Pankreas-System für Patienten mit schwerer glykämischer Dysregulation

 

Vollautomatisches, tragbares APDS mit geschlossenem Regelkreis zur hochgenauen und präzisen Blutzuckermessung und -kontrolle für die Diabetespatienten, die es am meisten brauchen. Seraccess® ONE ist ein halbminiaturisiertes, tragbares Gerät, das mit einem handelsüblichen Standardkatheter betrieben wird.

Patienten mit schwerer glykämischer Dysregulation wie z.B. Brittle Diabetes, beschreibt eine Gruppe von Diabetes-Patienten, die unter lebensverändernden Störungen leiden, die einen Zustand instabiler glykämischer Kontrolle anzeigen, der häufige Krankenhausaufenthalte erfordert und eine beeinträchtigte Lebensqualität sowie enorme wirtschaftliche Kosten verursacht.1 Diese Patienten sind dem Risiko vieler schwerwiegender Konsequenzen ausgesetzt: schlechte Blutzuckereinstellung mit den entsprechenden Komplikationen, mehr Notaufnahmen und Krankenhauseinweisungen, Belastung von persönlichen Beziehungen, höhere Inanspruchnahme des Gesundheitswesens und Diabetes-Stress. Diese Patienten verbringen nur wenig Zeit innerhalb des Blutzucker-Zielbereichs (Target Range), die derzeitigen Standardbehandlungen können diesen Patienten allerdings nicht wesentlich helfen. Brittle-Diabetes ist durch eine starke Instabilität des Blutzuckerspiegels mit häufigen und unvorhersehbaren Hypoglykämie-Episoden gekennzeichnet, die oft einen Krankenhausaufenthalt erfordern. Das Nicht-Wahrnehmen von Hypoglykämien ist eines der Kennzeichen des Brittle Diabetes. Dies ist besonders gefährlich, weil die hypoglykämische Person keine Gegenmassnahmen ergreifen kann, um eine weitere Verschlechterung zu verhindern. Bleibt die Hypoglykämie unbehandelt, kann sie schwerwiegend werden und zu Verwirrung, Desorientierung, Bewusstlosigkeit oder, in extremen Fällen einer lang anhaltenden Hypoglykämie, zu dauerhaften Hirnschäden oder zum Tod führen.2 Ebenso gefährlich sind ausgeprägte und langanhaltende Hyperglykämien, die zu diabetischer Ketoazidose (DKA) und damit verbunden häufig zu Spitaleinweisungen führen.

Sekundäre Komplikationen wie Neuropathie, Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen und Retinopathie können bei Brittle Diabetes besonders häufig auftreten, und die Sterblichkeitsrate ist bei diesen Patienten trotz intensiver Insulintherapie signifikant erhöht.3 Eine Zwanzig-Jahres-Studie zeigte eine schockierende Sterblichkeitsrate von 50 % in einer Gruppe von Frauen mit einem Durchschnittsalter von 42 Jahren. In einer normalen nicht-Brittle Typ-1-Diabetes-Population würde die erwartete Sterblichkeitsrate über einen solchen Zeitraum bei etwa 5 % liegen.4,5

 

Warum Seraccess® ONE?

 

Seraccess® ONE ist ein tragbares Gerät, das nahezu in Echtzeit und in direkter Kommunikation mit dem Blutkreislauf des Patienten arbeitet. Die nahezu verzögerungsfreie, hochgenaue und präzise Blutzuckermessung ermöglicht die Verabreichung der exakt benötigten Insulinmenge - über einen handelsüblichen Standardkatheter - direkt in die Blutbahn, um den Blutzucker im Zielbereich zu halten. Eine Verlängerung der time in range führt direkt zu einer Verringerung von kurz- und langfristigen Komplikationen. Seraccess® ONE ist ein schnell wirkendes Regelsystem, das die Therapie in dieser Patientengruppe revolutionieren kann.

 
 
 

Der Seraccess® ONE Ansatz

 

Die automatisierte, regelmässige, genaue und präzise Blutzucker-Messung mit Seraccess® ONE ermöglicht es, die erforderliche Menge Insulin direkt ins Blut abzugeben, wo es sofort seine Wirkung entfaltet. Der Blutzucker kann innerhalb des tatsächlichen physiologischen Zielbereichs kontrolliert werden, was zu deutlich verbesserten klinischen Ergebnissen führen kann.

 
Blutzucker-MonitoringBlutentnahmePlasma-Extraktion
 

Wie viel Blut wird pro Tag benötigt, um den Blutzucker alle 15 Minuten zu messen?

Die Seraccess-Technologie benötigt nur 20µl bis 30µl Blut für die Durchführung einer Messung. Bei einer Messfrequenz von 15 Minuten ergibt dies 96 Messungen pro Tag, was bedeutet, dass nur 2 ml bis 3 ml Blut pro Tag benötigt werden.

blood-sampling
 
 

Opportunität

 

Von Brittle Diabetes sind mindestens 3 von 1'000 insulinabhängigen Patienten betroffen, was mindestens 26'000 Patienten allein in den USA entspricht.6,7,8 Die Brittle Diabetes Foundation verwendet die glykämische Variabilität (von 36% oder mehr), um zwischen Brittle Diabetes und stabilem Diabetes zu unterscheiden und schätzt die Zahl der betroffenen Patienten allein in den USA auf 70'000.9 Diese Patienten leiden unter wiederkehrenden DKA-Episoden, die jedes Jahr zu mehreren Krankenhauseinweisungen führen, mit durchschnittlichen Kosten von 30'000 USD pro DKA-Einweisung.10 Im Jahr 2014 gab es 189'000 Krankenhauseinweisungen wegen DKA, die Kosten von 5,1 Mrd. USD verursachten.6 Es wird geschätzt, dass die Zahl der Krankenhauseinweisungen wegen DKA im Jahr 2021 auf mehr als 200'000 angestiegen sind, was Kosten von etwa 6 Mrd. USD verursachen würde. Auf Brittle Diabetes-Patienten entfallen im Durchschnitt 8 Krankenhauseinweisungen wegen DKA pro Jahr4 , was trotz des Einsatzes modernster Diabetestechnologie Kosten von rund 240'000 USD pro Patient verursacht. Legt man eine jährliche Pauschale pro Patient zugrunde, so wird der Markt auf mindestens 2 Mia. USD. geschätzt.

 
 

Meilensteine

 

Die Vorteile des intravenösen Pfades - Teil I

Verbesserung der Time-in-Range nicht nur im GESTRECKTEN BEREICH (70-180mg/dl), sondern auch im GESUNDEN BEREICH (70-140mg/dl)?

Mehr erfahren

Die Vorteile des intravenösen Pfades - Teil II

Hat die Messverzögerung einen negativen Einfluss auf die Time-in-Range (70-140mg/dl)?

Mehr erfahren

Die Vorteile des intravenösen Pfades - Teil III

Wie schneidet die Blutzucker-Messung mit Seraccess® bei gesunden Probanden im Vergleich zu Cobas C111 ab?

Mehr erfahren

Die Vorteile des intravenösen Pfades - Teil IV

Wie schneidet die Blutzucker-Messung mit Seraccess im Vergleich zu modernen CGM-Geräten bei Patienten mit Typ-1 Diabetes ab?

Die Vorteile des intravenösen Pfades - Teil V

Wie schneidet die Blutzucker-Messung mit Seraccess® bei gesunden Probanden im Vergleich zu YSI ab?

Mehr erfahren

Die Vorteile des intravenösen Pfades - Teil VI

Wie schneidet die Blutzucker-Messung mit Seraccess® bei Patienten mit Typ-1-Diabetes im Vergleich zu Cobas C111 ab?

Mehr erfahren
 
 
 
 

Seraccess® ist ein Mid-Stage-Venture-Projekt von Securecell, das privaten und institutionellen Anlegern Investitionsmöglichkeiten bietet.

Alle hierin enthaltenen Informationen und Meinungen wurden von der Geschäftsleitung und ihren Beratern erstellt und stellen ihre Einschätzung zum Stand Januar 2022 dar. Es wird keine ausdrückliche oder stillschweigende Zusicherung oder Garantie für die Richtigkeit oder Vollständigkeit der hierin enthaltenen Inhalte, Meinungen oder Prognosen gegeben und es wird keine Verantwortung oder Haftung übernommen. Alle Informationsvideos stellen kein Angebot zum Kauf von Wertpapieren dar. Der Inhalt dieser Website stellt keine Aufforderung zum Kauf von Aktien nach US-amerikanischem oder internationalem Recht dar.

Referenzen:

1 I.B. Hirsch, L.M. Gaudiani: A new look at brittle diabetes. Journal of Diabetes and Its Complications 35 (2021) 107646; https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jdiacomp.2020.107646
2 Cryer, P.E., S.N. Davis, and H. Shamoon, Hypoglycemia in diabetes. Diabetes Care, 2003. 26(6): p. 1902-12.
3 Lind, M., et al., Glycemic control and excess mortality in type 1 diabetes. N Engl J Med, 2014. 371(21): p. 1972-82.
4 Cartwright A. et al. The outcome of brittle type 1 diabetes - a 20 year study. Q J Med 2011; 104:575-579
5 Flanagan D. What happens to people with “brittle” diabetes? Diabetes Digest 2011 Vol 10;4:196 https://www.pcdsociety.org/download/resource/2756; accessed Dec 16, 2021
6 https://www.webmd.com/diabetes/brittle-diabetes-all-about; accessed Dec 15, 2021
7 CDC National Diabetes Statistics Report 2020; https://www.cdc.gov/diabetes/pdfs/data/statistics/national-diabetes-statistics-report.pdf; accessed Dec 15, 2021
8 https://www.americanactionforum.org/research/understanding-the-insulin-market/; accessed Dec 15, 2021
9 https://www.bdtype1.com/difference-stable-type-1-vs-brittle, accessed Dec 20, 2021
10 Lyerla et al. Recurrent DKA results in high societal costs - a retrospective study identifying social predictors of recurrence for potential future intervention. Clin Diabetes Endocrinol (2021) 7:13; https://clindiabetesendo.biomedcentral.com/track/pdf/10.1186/s40842-021-00127-6.pdf